Kings fall to Oilers at home, trail 2-1 in series

The Kings will try to level the series on Sunday night at the Crypto.com Arena.

LOS ANGELES — Zach Hyman and Leon Draisaitl scored two goals each, Connor McDavid added a goal and two assists, and the Edmonton Oilers defeated the Kings 6-1 in Game 3 of the NHL playoffs series on Friday night at Crypto.com Arena.

The victory gives the Oilers a 2-1 lead in the first-round series. Game 4 is scheduled for Sunday night in Los Angeles.

Hyman has six goals in the series is taking the stage from a roster that includes two of the NHL’s biggest stars. He was drafted by Florida in 2010 at No. 123 overall and has improved to become the third-leading goal scorer (54) in the NHL this season.

Hyman opened the scoring at the 6:42 mark as part of a 16-shot attack on Kings goaltender Cam Talbot. Leon Draisaitl (15:36) and Connor McDavid (18:34) added goals to create a 3-0 lead after the first period.

Drew Doughty scored his second goal of the series, 5:32 into the second period via a pass from Quinton Byfield. But the Oilers regained a three-goal lead two minutes later by Evander Kane’s goal.

The Oilers silence the home crowd as Hyman scored his second goal and Draisaitl made it 6-1 six minutes later.

The Kings gave up 40 shots and seven power plays with the Oilers scoring on three of them.

“They are executing pretty well, they are executing at a high level,” Kings coach Jim Hiller said. “The game is over. They scored on their power plays, but we didn’t. Let’s move on and get ready for the next one.”

Kings left wing Kevin Fiala said it’s crucial for the team to approach Game 4 with a different mentality in order to contain Edmonton’s big three players.

“They’re not impossible to stop. We stopped them the last game,” Fiala said. “Obviously they are very good players, we have to do a better job and obviously tonight too many power play.

“I don’t know how in the heck they have so many power plays to be honest.”

Also, Kings captain Anze Kopitar played his 95th playoff game, passing Luc Robitaille’s franchise record.