Golf Glance: WM Phoenix Open’s $20M purse draws strong field

Allan Henry-USA TODAY Sports

Field Level Media’s Golf Glance provides weekly news and storylines from each of the major North American golf tours.

LAST TOURNAMENT: AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am (Justin Rose)
THIS WEEK: Waste Management Phoenix Open, Scottsdale, Ariz., Feb. 9-12
Courses: TPC Scottsdale – Stadium Course (Par 71, 7,261 yards)
Purse: $20 Million (Winner: $3.6M)
Defending Champion: Scottie Scheffler
FedEx Cup leader: Jon Rahm
TV: Thursday-Friday, 3:30-7 p.m. ET (Golf Channel); Saturday, 1-3 p.m. (GC); 3-6:30 p.m. (CBS); Sunday, 1-3 p.m. (GC); 3-6 p.m. (CBS)
Streaming on ESPN+: Thursday-Friday: 9:15 a.m.-7:30 p.m. ET; Saturday, 12-6:30 p.m.; Sunday, 11:30 a.m-6 p.m.
Twitter: @WMPhoenixOpen
NOTES: This is the 15th of 44 FedEx Cup events during the regular season, and the second designated event with elevated purses. The $3.6 million winner’s share matches last year’s Players Championship for the largest in PGA Tour history. … The 134-player field features 22 of the top 25 players in the Official World Golf Ranking. … The 6 p.m. scheduled end to the broadcast is set to accommodate the Super Bowl in nearby Glendale, with the event swapping with last week’s AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am to keep its traditional Super Bowl Sunday spot. … Scheffler is the defending champion of four of the next nine events on tour. … World No. 1 Rory McIlroy won his lone start of the fall swing at the 2022 CJ Cup, following his victory at the Tour Championship. He’s seeking to become the first player to win three consecutive starts on tour since Dustin Johnson in 2016-17. … Rickie Fowler’s most recent win came at the 2019 WM Phoenix Open, and he has three other top-fives in six previous starts. … Taylor Montgomery, who is No. 8 in the FedEx Cup standings, is in the field on a sponsors exemption, as is fellow rookie Davis Thompson (No. 22). … TPC Scottsdale was opened in 1986 and designed by Jay Morrish and Tom Weiskopf, who passed away last August.
BEST BETS: Rahm (+750 at BetMGM) starred at nearby Arizona State and has four wins among eight consecutive top-10s worldwide.. … McIlroy (+800) is making his first PGA Tour start of 2023. He is coming off a victory in Dubai and has won three of his past seven worldwide starts. … Scheffler (+1200) and Xander Schauffele (+1600) are tied for the second-lowest scoring marking among any player with at least 10 rounds since the event moved to TPC Scottsdale in 1987. Schauffele has finished T2 and T3 the past two years. … Justin Thomas (+2000) has three top-10 in the past four WM Phoenix Opens. … Patrick Cantlay (+2000) lost in a playoff to Scheffler in his event debut last year. … Max Homa (+2200), one of several Scottsdale residents in the field, one his most recent start at the Farmers Insurance Open. … Hideki Matsuyama (+2800) has a pair of wins among five career top-10s at TPC Scottsdale. He is the most recent player to repeat a title at the Phoenix Open and is coming off a T9 at Torrey Pines. … Montgomery (+5500) is seeking his first tour win but does have eight top-15s in 10 starts this season.
NEXT TOURNAMENT: The Genesis Invitational, Pacific Palisades, Calif., Feb. 16-19

LAST TOURNAMENT: Tournament of Champions (Brooke Henderson)
NEXT TOURNAMENT: Honda LPGA Thailand, Chonburi, Thailand, Feb. 23-26

Champions Tour
LAST TOURNAMENT: Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai (Steve Stricker)
THIS WEEK: Trophy Hassan II, Rabat, Morocco, Feb. 9-11
Courses: Royal Golf Dar Es Salam – Red Course (Par 73, 7,349 yards)
Purse: $2M (Winner: $320,000)
Defending Champion: Brett Quigley
Charles Schwab Cup leader: Stricker
TV: Thursday-Friday, 8-11 a.m. ET (Golf Channel)
Twitter: @ChampionsTour
NOTES: The 54-hole tournament is the first Champions Tour event to be held in Northern Africa since 2020 and features a 66-player field. It is also a joint event with the Ladies European Tour, which is competing in the Lalla Meryem Cup on the Blue Course … Quigley’s victory last year came in Marrakesh. Other past champions in the field are Roger Chapman, Santiago Luna and Colin Montgomerie, who won the Trophy Hassan II at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in 1997. … World Golf Hall of Fame members in the field are Montgomerie, Bernhard Langer, Retief Goosen and Jose Maria Olazabal.
NEXT WEEK: Chubb Classic, Naples, Fla., Feb. 17-19

–Field Level Media

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x