Connor Hellebuyck, Ilya Sorokin, Linus Ullmark named Vezina finalists

Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets, Ilya Sorokin of the New York Islanders and Linus Ullmark of the Boston Bruins were named finalists on Thursday for the 2022-23 Vezina Trophy, awarded annually to the best goaltender in the NHL.

The Vezina is voted on by NHL general managers after the regular season. Like other league awards, the Vezina winner will be revealed at the NHL Awards show on June 26 in Nashville, Tenn.

Hellebuyck, the 2020 Vezina winner and 2018 runner-up, continued his stellar goaltending career this past season. He led the NHL in starts (64) and went 37-25-2 with a 2.49 goals-against average and a .920 save percentage. Hellebuyck ranked second in the league with 1,807 total saves and recorded four shutouts.

Sorokin, a finalist for the first time in his young career, led the league with six shutouts and allowed one goal or fewer in 21 of his 60 starts. Sorokin went 31-22-7 with a 2.34 GAA and a .924 save percentage for New York.

Ullmark, also a first-time finalist, teamed up with Jeremy Swayman to lead the Bruins to a historic regular season. Boston won 65 games and recorded 135 points, with Ullmark tying for the NHL lead in goalie wins (40) and pacing the league in GAA (1.89) and save percentage (.938). Ullmark is the first goalie to lead all three categories in one season since Carey Price for Montreal in 2014-15.

Ullmark and Swayman previously won the William M. Jennings Trophy, given to the goaltenders whose team allowed the fewest goals in the regular season.

–Field Level Media

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x