Avs, Oilers, Rangers add two All-Stars in fan voting

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

The Colorado Avalanche, Edmonton Oilers and New York Rangers are the only three teams sending three players to the NHL All-Star Game, as those three clubs each had two players added to the roster when the results of fan voting were revealed Thursday.

Forwards Mikko Rantanen and Nathan MacKinnon were voted in from the defending Stanley Cup champion Avalanche. They join Colorado defenseman Cale Makar on the Central Division team, which also added Winnipeg Jets goalie Connor Hellebuyck.

Edmonton center Leon Draisaitl and goalie Stuart Skinner were voted onto the Pacific Division squad, where they will join Oilers center Connor McDavid. Vancouver Canucks center Bo Horvat also joined the Pacific roster.

Rangers defenseman Adam Fox and forward Artemi Panarin are new to the Metropolitan Division team, joining Rangers goalie Igor Shesterkin. The other newcomer on the Metropolitan roster is New York Islanders goalie Ilya Sorokin.

The final additions to the Atlantic Division roster were Boston Bruins forward David Pastrnak, Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews and Tampa Bay Lightning goalie Andrei Vasilevskiy.

The initial All-Stars — one per NHL team — were announced Jan. 5. Those players were selected by the NHL’s hockey operations department.

The All-Star Game is scheduled for Feb. 4 in Sunrise, Fla. The division teams will square off in three games of three-on-three competition, with each roster featuring nine skaters and two goalies.

NHL All-Star Game rosters, with number of All-Star appearances

Boston Bruins: G Linus Ullmark (first), F David Pastrnak (third)
Buffalo Sabres: F Tage Thompson (first)
Detroit Red Wings: F Dylan Larkin (third)
Florida Panthers: F Matthew Tkachuk (second)
Montreal Canadiens: F Nick Suzuki (second)
Ottawa Senators: F Brady Tkachuk (third)
Tampa Bay Lightning: F Nikita Kucherov (fourth), G Andrei Vasilevskiy (fourth)
Toronto Maple Leafs: F Mitchell Marner (second), F Auston Matthews (third)
Carolina Hurricanes: F Andrei Svechnikov (first)
Columbus Blue Jackets: F Johnny Gaudreau (seventh)
New Jersey Devils: F Jack Hughes (second)
New York Islanders: F Brock Nelson (first), G Ilya Sorokin (first)
New York Rangers: G Igor Shesterkin (first), F Artemi Panarin (first), D Adam Fox (first)
Philadelphia Flyers: F Kevin Hayes (first)
Pittsburgh Penguins: F Sidney Crosby (fifth)
Washington Capitals: F Alex Ovechkin (eighth)
Arizona Coyotes: F Clayton Keller (third)
Chicago Blackhawks: D Seth Jones (fourth)
Colorado Avalanche: D Cale Makar (second), F Mikko Rantanen (second), F Nathan MacKinnon (fifth)
Dallas Stars: F Jason Robertson (first)
Minnesota Wild: F Kirill Kaprizov (second)
Nashville Predators: G Juuse Saros (second)
St. Louis Blues: F Vladimir Tarasenko (fourth)
Winnipeg Jets: D Josh Morrissey (first), G Connor Hellebuyck (third)
Anaheim Ducks: F Troy Terry (second)
Calgary Flames: F Nazem Kadri (second)
Edmonton Oilers: F Connor McDavid (sixth), F Leon Draisaitl (fourth), G Stuart Skinner (first)
Los Angeles Kings: F Kevin Fiala (first)
San Jose Sharks: D Erik Karlsson (seventh)
Seattle Kraken: F Matty Beniers (first)
Vancouver Canucks: F Elias Pettersson (third), F Bo Horvat (second)
Vegas Golden Knights: G Logan Thompson (first)

–Field Level Media

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x